The restoration of the unique iconostasis of the northern chapel „St. Nicholas“ began in the Holy Rila Monastery. It was made 180 years ago and is now being restored for the first time, the Bulgarian National Television reported.
Now the restorers put on the details a new gilding and restore the authentic appearance of the iconostasis, as it looked 180 years ago. The royal icons are still to be restored. Among them is the miraculous icon of Saint John of Rila, which is from the 18th century. In this chapel is also an image of St. Alexander Nevsky.
It is not known the woodcarver who made the iconostasis. Perhaps it was installed in the chapel of St. Nicholas after the completion of its painting in 1841. The mural decoration is now completely upgraded. Among the valuable images are the images of the donors from the village of Badino in Dupnitsa.
The repairs to the monastery continue. Builders renew the roof in the northwest and thus complete the repair of the entire roof structure of the Holy Cloister.